black families · black mothers · daughters · family · kids · moms · mother

Mommy needs a timeout πŸ·πŸ·πŸ·

​​I became a mother in 2005. I had a baby girl. I again became a mother in 2011. I had twins. Anyone who knows me will tell you i sacrifice so my children can be funky fresh and fly…while i look like ms ceily on her way to shave mista. But that’s ok. I am a selfless person. I like to make sure everyone around me is good…then i worry about myself. I have my moments where i breakdown and ask “well when the bloody hell can i???” But then i hear that voice in my head “you’re a mother…good luck with that.” 

People laugh at me because i reply “wine…in a box” when they ask me how i handle an 11teen year old and 5 year old twins. It’s the truth…wine!! 

I had two customers this week that made comments about me having to take care of myself and do more for myself. They were both men! One said “i know you love your kids but you have to take care of yourself too. You want to be around so you can watch them grow and play with all the toys you buy and wear all those clothes.” The other said “at least take care or yourself health wise” I have heard this many times before, but it hit home this week because i was feeling spread so thin on this motherhood journey. I have a wonderful man in my life, but because i started my mom journey as a single one in 2005 , i often just take the reings and go. 

I get tired, i get frustrated, but i sit back and look at how my children are being well cared for (not just materials) but because i just love them. I want to give them the world. I  want them to know i love them. But yea…i get tired and want that selfish me moment without feeling bad. When do i get my timeout? 

2 thoughts on “Mommy needs a timeout πŸ·πŸ·πŸ·

Leave a comment